Smile & spend!

Facial recognition is now seriously advancing to a whole new level… At least for me! ๐Ÿ˜Œ

Source:ย Giphy

In this article that I stumbled upon, Alipay (a third-party mobile and online payment platform by Alibaba) has launched a new payment technology, Smile to Pay, where users can verify their payments through facial scanning and keying in their phone number. I am officially frickinย intrigued.๐Ÿ˜ฑ

The company claims to use a 3D camera and a type of algorithm that can detect features coming only from live beings, preventing unauthorised payments with photos or videos. ๐Ÿค ๐Ÿ˜

In fact, the tech giant is so optimistic with this new form of payment that they are willing to cover all losses in the event of theft.ย Talk about quality, man. ๐Ÿ‘

Source:ย Giphy

I am already an enthusiast and I’d actually test this out! I mean, there’s a guarantee, so what’s there to lose? ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Source:ย Giphy

Also, speaking of facial recognition, during the launch Apple’s new iPhone X, executive Craig Federighi awkwardly failed to demonstrate Face ID (their new facial recognition software) to unlock the screen. ๐Ÿ˜Ÿ

The company is also using Face ID on banking apps such as Apple Pay. ๐Ÿ’ฐ

Source:ย Giphy

Check out the video below!

I’ll be honest that after witnessing this humiliating fail, I think I change my stance on payments with facial recognition! I won’t trust it if it doesn’t offer loss coverage. Reasonable, right? ๐Ÿ˜ค

Source:ย Giphy

So question, guaranteed or not guaranteed, would you trust regardless? ๐Ÿ‘ฎโ€โ™€๏ธ ๐Ÿ‘€

Also, do you reckon this distinctive method of payment would be pivotal in digital financial services? ๐Ÿค‘

4 thoughts on “Smile & spend!”

  1. Personally I wouldn’t use a payment method that relied on facial recognition, or even the iPhone using it as a method for unlocking, regardless of whether or not there was a “guarantee”. It still seems too unreliable (as seen with the Apple launch fail). Perhaps if it was there as a second form of verification, along with a code or something, then I’d be more open to trying it.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your response Courtney! That’s totally understandable that you feel more secure with another step of verification with a pin or something similar! But with Alibaba, what do you reckon about phone numbers being the additional layer of verifying a payor? Do you think this method is secure enough? ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment